People with celiac disease must eat gluten free food
People with celiac disease have an abnormal immune system. The body's immune system cannot recognize gluten as a food ingredient. Thus, the immune system in patients with celiac disease will react if there is gluten protein entering the body.
When people with celiac disease eat foods that contain gluten, villi (small tissue) in the intestine can be damaged and cause inflammation in the lining of the intestine. This makes the intestines unable to absorb nutrients in food properly. As a result, you can experience a lack of important nutrients your body needs. In young children, this certainly can interfere with growth and development.
Benefits Of Banana Roots For Human Health
6 Benefits Of Casvew Fruit For Human Health
Gluten is a protein that is usually found in grains (but not all), so it is difficult for people with celiac disease to choose which seeds to avoid. You cannot avoid all grains when you have celiac disease. Because seeds are an important food source for the body. It contains carbohydrates, various vitamins and minerals, and fiber.
Grains that should be avoided by people with celiac disease
For those of you who have celiac disease, you need to know which grains contain gluten and which are not. So, you don't need to avoid all grains. The following are the types of seeds that celiac sufferers should avoid:
- Wheat, including in the form of wheat flour (flour, durum flour, flour, semolina, and farina flour), wheat bran, wheat seeds,
- Rye (rye)
How about oat?
Actually oat does not contain gluten and does not endanger many people with celiac disease. However, usually the oat production process is in contact with or contaminated with wheat, starting from the harvest period until processing at the factory (from the same tools). So, for those of you who have celiac disease and want to consume oat, you should choose oat products with claims of "gluten free" or "gluten-free".
Grains that can be consumed by people with celiac disease
Some types of grains that do not contain gluten and can be consumed by those of you who have celiac disease are:
- White, red and black rice
- Ararut or arrowroot